Ohio.gov  |   State Agencies   |   Online Services
About Ohio Family and Children First
Ohio Family and Children First (OFCF) is a partnership of state and local government, communities and families that enhances the well-being of Ohio’s children and families by building community capacity, coordinating systems and services, and engaging families.  OFCF's vision is for every child and family to thrive and succeed within healthy communities.Mission Pyramid Engaging and Empowering Families Building Capacity Shared Accountability Coordinating Services

Established in 1993, Ohio Family and Children First (OFCF) is defined as the Governor's Children's Cabinet with the purpose of streamlining and coordinating government services for children and families.  The OFCF Cabinet Council is comprised of the following Ohio Departments:  Aging, Developmental Disabilities, Education, Health, Job and Family Services, Medicaid, Mental Health and Addiction Services, Opportunities for Ohioians with Disabilities, Rehabilitation and Correction, Youth Services, and the Office of Budget and Management.  Locally, the county commissioners establish the 88 county Family and Children First Councils (FCFC).

Family and Children First Councils are mandated to perform four core functions as illustrated in the triangle.  For more information about these core functions or responsibilities, click on the triangle.



Click on the calendar to view OFCF related meetings, events, and key FCFC deadline dates.





RedTreehouse.org is a resource for Ohio's families, young adults, and professionals to promote the well-being of children, youth, and young adults ages 0-26.  The website connects users to relevant information, resources, support networks, and events in communities. Families, young adults, and professionals should join to learn about all the resources, information, and events readily available to them. Organizations should join to share information about their services and connect with others.  The Red Treehouse is a collaborative effort between Ohio Family and Children First and the Ronald McDonald House of Cleveland. 

To join, just click on the above logo and be connected to vibrant, growing community.

Information about other FCFC Related Resources
Information about OFCF Related Initiatives
Latest News

Chad Hibbs Appointed New Ohio Family & Children First Director                                               

Hibbs served a combined 10 years as director of the Guernsey and Coshocton counties Family and Children First Councils before being named OFCF’s East Regional Coordinator in 2014. In that role, he managed OFCF activities in 44 counties in eastern Ohio, and served as interim project director for a $4 million Engaging the New Generation to Achieve their Goals Through Empowerment (ENGAGE) System of Care Implementation Grant from the federal Substance Abuse and Mental Health Services Administration. The goal of the four-year grant project is to develop a statewide system of care framework for youth and young adults, ages 14-21, with mental health challenges, co-occurring disorders and multi-system needs. He previously served as executive director of Big Brothers, Big Sisters of Guernsey County. He is a commissioner of the Ohio Commission on Fatherhood, among numerous other leadership roles. He holds a master’s degree in Organization Development and a bachelor’s degree in Communication both from Bowling Green State University.  Read the media release.


New Ohio Benefits Site Connects Ohioans to Coverage  

On October 1, the State of Ohio launched a new system designed to assist residents who wish to obtain health care coverage through Medicaid. Ohio Benefits is a simplified, self-service Website that makes it easier for Ohioans to learn what type of assistance may be available to them.

Through the new Benefits portal, individuals will receive immediate notice as to whether or not they qualify for Medicaid coverage. Those who do not qualify for Medicaid will be directed to other opportunities for coverage through the federal health insurance exchange.

Over the next two years, Ohio Benefits will become the primary resource for those seeking assistance beyond just Medicaid. In 2015, eligibility determination for the Supplemental Nutrition Assistance Program (SNAP), Temporary Assistance for Needy Families (TANF) and other programs will be on Ohio Benefits.

If you or someone you know are looking to find out more about Medicaid eligibility and the new system, please visit: Benefits.Ohio.Gov. To follow the integrated eligibility work being led through the Governor's Office of Health Transformation, click here. 

Find Your County FCFC

Click on a county below to view the FCFC Chair and Coordinator/Director contact information, the FCFC Service Coordination Mechanism, and the FCFC Shared Plan (HB 289).

                                               FCF County Map

Adams County Allen County Ashland County Ashtabula County Athens County Auglaize County Belmont County Brown County Butler County Carroll County Champaign County Clark County Clermont County Clinton County Columbiana County Coshocton County Crawford County Cuyahoga County Darke County Defiance County Delaware County Erie County Fairfield County Fayette County Franklin County Fulton County Gallia County Geauga County Greene County Guernsey County Hamilton County Hancock County Hardin County Harrison County Henry County Highland County Hocking County Holmes County Huron County Jackson County Jefferson County Knox County Lake County Lawrence County Licking County Logan County Lorain County Lucas County Madison County Mahoning County Marion County Medina County Meigs County Mercer County Miami County Monroe County Montgomery County Morgan County Morrow County Muskingum County Noble County Ottawa County Paulding County Perry County Pickaway County Pike County Portage County Preble County Putnam County Richland County Ross County Sandusky County Scioto County Seneca County Shelby County Stark County Summit County Trumbull County Tuscarawas County Union County Van Wert County Vinton County Warren County Washington County Wayne County Williams County Wood County Wyandot County